After Midnight (The Youngbloods #1) by Lynn Viehl - ARC Review

Sunday, March 13, 2011

Title: After Midinght (TheYoungbloods #1)
Author: Lynn Viehl
Paperback, 336 pages
Expected publication: May 8th 2011 by Flux
Source: ARC


Sophomore Catlyn Youngblood is used to the nomadic existence she and her two older brothers have shared since the death of their parents. When they settle down for good in the sleepy backwoods town of Lost Lake, Florida, Cat thinks they might finally fit in. Instead, they're shunned by the locals.

While riding her horse late one night, Cat meets an enigmatic and handsome boy named Jesse Raven. Even more strange than her overpowering attraction to him is Jesse's apparent aversion to the sun. As their attraction intensifies, long-kept secrets come to light. Cat learns that the Ravens are a centuries-old vampire clan . . . and worse still, that she and her brothers are descendents of Abraham Van Helsing, the world-famous vampire hunter. Mortal enemies by blood, the two families do all they can to keep them apart. But Cat and Jesse will risk everything to be together—including death.

My Thoughts:

If you've read my past reviews, you know I am a serious sucker for paranormal romance. This book is full of it. Yes, I will tell you parts of the this relationship feels rushed. They become too gah-gah for each other a little soon. However, I still love it when two characters are willing to do anything for each other. Abandon their families, chance dying or whatever it takes to be together. It totally adds to the romance.

There really isn't any elements that make it stand out among other YA paranormal romances I've read, but that didn't keep me from enjoying this one. The element that makes Cat and Jesse mortal enemies was a nice touch though. I love the VanHelsing story as well as the movie with Kate Beckinsale and Hugh Jackman.

Read this one if you like paranormal romance.


Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images from the Flying Dreams Storybook Collection by Lorie Davison