The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson Review

Thursday, July 8, 2010

Title: The Sky is Everywhere
By: Jandy Nelson
Published: March 9, 2010

The Sky Is Everywhere

"Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life—and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable."

My Thoughts:

The main character, Lennie, leaps off the pages. I found myself feeling emotions right along with her, which is a sign that this writer, Jandy Nelson, knew what she was doing. My heart broke over and over as I read this novel and I felt the shear happiness too. The love triangle in this novel is unlike any I've read before. Toby broke my heart, and the secret he and Bailey shared made it even worse. I could totally see why Lennie got involved with him. Joe on the other hand is absolutely swoon worthy. He says all the right things at the right times. When he gets angry once he discovers Lennie and Toby's kiss, he feels so real. He has the perfect (and realistic) reaction to catching your girlfriend with another guy.

So if you like contemporary romance novels, read this one ASAP!

4 comments:

Angie said...

I have this coming! Looking forward to it.

Remilda Graystone said...

I keep hearing so many great things about this book! I must read it.

Adventures in Children's Publishing said...

This BOOK is everywhere! Thanks for the review. I have it on my request list from my library now!

Thanks again :)
Marissa

Amanda Hannah said...

I just picked this up at the library today and was looking for a review! Thanks :)

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images from the Flying Dreams Storybook Collection by Lorie Davison